Catalystonline by AnnA

What’s The Music Of Your Life?

Posted on: August 20, 2009

I was pottering round the kitchen the other day and listening idly to the local radio station when an enthusiastic presenter (aren ‘t they always) introduced a disc with the immortal line ‘This is the music of your life!!’ and yes it felt like it had several exclamation marks behind it. However, Duran Duran has never been the music or even the bum note in my life but it did get me thinking.

I am a fan of Desert island discs because people’s choice of music tells you so much about them, and I am a firm supporter of Noel Coward’s observation: ‘Extraordinary how potent cheap music is.’ I recommend anyone who is writing their life story to hunt out the soundtrack to their life; the music that instantly transports you back to a specific time and place and will bring those memories alive. So while lazing on the beach in this August heatwave, or sheltering from the howling rain and wind if you are north of the Wash, have a ponder on just what is the music of your life, and to help you, here is my ‘top ten’ list.  Actually only the first draft as I could have gone on to 100 and have added an ‘aide memoire’ to each so I know what I wanted to write about it.

Try it yourself and when you have finished it, have a think about whether you could use it to write about a specific emotion or access a long-lost memory :

1. Outside Myself – k d lang for the low days and the knowledge others feel like this too

2. Spring – Vivaldi for the joyful days when the sun shines inside and out

3. Holding out for a hero – Bonnie Tyler for the sheer energy of a raucous voice

4. Agnus dei from Corsica Sacra – Jackie Micaelli for spiritual wonder and a voice as deep as a cavern

5. The Ballad of Lucie Jordan – Marianne faithful to remember Paris in a sportscar in the rain

6. Hey That’s No Way To Say Goodbye – Leonard Cohen for instant return to university and angst-ridden nights

7. The Rose -Bette Midler for hope and the belief in renewal

8. Ocean of Remembrance – Oruc Guvenc for meditation and centredness with a heart pulse beat

9. Heart Like A Wheel – Kate & Anna McGarrigle for pure voices and Celtic heartbreak

10. Cant de la Sibilla – Jordi Savall for a wonderful combination of music and voice that is both earthly and sensual. 

If you want to share your list with me, then please do, it’s a great way to find new and interesting music isn’t it?

3 Responses to "What’s The Music Of Your Life?"

We’re known as the Music of Your Life syndicated radio network for 31 years and running. Playing the classics from the Great American Songbook, Sinatra, Ella, Bennett, Glenn Miller, etc. While we’re not the music of everyone’s life, the roots of much of today’s great music originated with many of the great songwriters and composers. Thanks!

Thanks Marc – as I spend a lot of time speaking about and coaching people to write their life story I thoroughly recommend music for massaging the memory. I am UK based, but presume my European readers can get you on the web? AnnA

AnnA Rushton – author, speaker and creativity coach

Catalyst News – Your Personal Development & Creativity Newsletter

Healthy News – A different slant on Medical and Alternative Health

Sign up for these free newsletters at http://www.catalystonline.co.uk

I agreed that music can stir memories in a big way. when I ventured on a life history course music was very much to the fore and triggered so many memories. Music is vitally important to me both classical– Early Music, and the vast array of music that stirs the emotions in every way.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • babs: interesting thought. I feel that this can be because of childhood where a child is made to feel inferior and of little worth. As somebody who spent m
  • babs: I agreed that music can stir memories in a big way. when I ventured on a life history course music was very much to the fore and triggered so many mem
  • catalystonline: Thanks Marc - as I spend a lot of time speaking about and coaching people to write their life story I thoroughly recommend music for massaging the mem